Research Design

The process behind this map is a little abnormal. My first, shown below was done after my first read-through of the chapter. As you can see I started with the usual topic in the middle, work around the outside method. I got frustrated because the information was not materializing in the an organization that works for me. So I set this guy aside to work on something else.

researchdesigndraft1

On this second go round, I forgot that I had created my first map. That being so, I began with fresh eyes on this second draft. As you can see, allowing myself to come back and organize after giving myself some time away from the information allowed me to create a layout that was a little more visually pleasing.

researchdesigndraft2

To be honest, I am not exactly why this layout works; I just know that it does. I will spend some time meditating on it and come back to this post.

Leave a comment